evil-looking spider thingy

1/200; f/11 (aperture priority); 200mm (300@35mm); ISO 400; SB-600 speedlight

A small but evil-looking spider I came across in the “inlaws” garden in Blacks Beach, near Mackay (Queensland). Nobody I asked seemed to know what type it was. Any suggestions?

These are two separate photographs, but the top one was closely cropped in post-process. One of the weaknesses of my Nikon 18-200mm lens is that the minimal focal distance is 50cm, so both of these pics were taken using a Canon macro filter, which reduces the minimal focal distance by half. I would love a dedicated macro lens, but I can’t really justify the cost. That said I didn’t want to get too close to the spider in case it was poisonous or aggressive!

14 Comments

  1. One thing I have learned online is that Australia is rabies free but full of weird and poisonous spiders. And this one looks especially weird. And where are its eyes?

    And if it helps to justify a macro lens’s cost, they can be used for everyday shooting, not just macro shots. Also, go for a prime lens, may be a bit more expensive, but the zoom lenses aren’t technically macro even when they have “macro” written across them. In case you were wondering, that is.

    1. Thanks for the advice. I can’t really justify the cost of any new camera gear at the moment, but I’d like to invest in some new lenses at some point in the future. I think my priority would be a high-quality wide angle, most probably a prime lens.

    1. I think you might be right, certainly around the right size and I did find the web in a bush. If it is Austracantha Minax, the good news is that it states: “this spider may be too small to cause human illness and is not very aggressive anyway”. It still looks evil! Thanks for the link 🙂

  2. You seemed to have identified it :D. Extra cool takes! Stevie, in your galleries I wanted to open section titled “Outdoor & Landscape” but it can’t be found :S

Leave a Reply

