1600km/h

1120 secs (bulb mode); f/3.8; 22mm (33@35mm); ISO 800

Something a little different. This was a 19 minute exposure (using a tripod and remote control) taken on a cloudless night from the roof terrace of our 17th floor apartment on Hamilton Island. The Earth’s rotation is clearly visible.

I tried taking some much shorter exposures (the stars were so brilliant and abundantly visible there, presumably due to the reduced light pollution on the island) but it was far too windy on the roof terrace, so the images came out blurred despite the use of my tripod. Anyway, I’m pretty pleased with this image.

7 Comments

  1. One of the hardest photography to achieve. I tried it so many times in different conditions and different method. And still haven’t got the one :/ To minimise the tripod shake you can hang a bag with some weight in it. It helps ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Good luck !!!

    1. Thanks. I did try weighing down the tripod with my camera bag, but it was so windy/gusty up on the 17th floor that it made little difference. I was hoping to have another go at ground level, but I didn’t get the chance.

Leave a Reply

