Redcar Beacon 1

 

9346968070_f2f58d2dec_o

Redcar Beacon is a “vertical pier” opened to the public in March 2013 as part of £75 million seafront rejuvenation project. It cost £1.6 million to build, it’s 24m tall and features an observation deck, café and multiple retail units.

As the centrepiece of the project I must admit that I was seriously underwhelmed both by the height (I was expecting something taller) and design of the Redcar Beacon. The word that comes to mind is “naff”. But maybe I’m being too harsh?

7 thoughts on “Redcar Beacon 1

  1. I’ve been wanting to comment on this all morning. All I can say is whoa. This is one of your most awesome shots. The composition, the lighting, the way the muted yellow runs around the structure… all of it looks simply beautiful. I love the angle you chose to shoot it in, it gives it a nice perspective. Good job!

  2. haha you’re in my neck of the woods, or thereabouts, have watched this come into being over the past months and wondered what it was all about, looks like a helter skelter! Most of Redcar is a bit ‘naff’ to be honest, but your photo is fab.

Leave a Reply

